Superhero

Posted: April 25, 2007 in Uncategorized

Superhero??

AAAAAAAssssssssssshhhhhhhuuuuuuuuuuuuu!!!!! Megs’ terror filled shriek made me jump out of my skin. Generally when she does that I look a for the nearest hole to crawl into. But this was different. This was the Lois Lane is distress calling Superman shriek.

I jumped out of the sofa, appeared at the bathroom door, to see a wide eyed, terror struck Megs staring at the overflow pipe of the overhead tank. My eyes followed hers and I saw him sitting there wondering his next move. “Kill him, Ashu” begged Megs…

And me picked up the handiest weapon – a kolhapuri chappal – and aimed. The angle was narrow and this was the only chance. Thinking quickly on my feet (a trait of all superheroes), I quickly changed my mind and decided to quash him instead. With steady hands, and a single minded focus I hit him. He fell down wounded, but was not to give up so easily. He tried to escape, only to make Megs let out another heart wrenching shriek. That did it. Turning back he faced me again, wounded but not defeated. It steadied my assault weapon again to bring this fight to its eventual climax. I was charged. I attacked again with intense might and that was the end of the battle. The tattered remains of our enemy lay on the bathroom floor.

All we could hear was the quiet. I performed the last of the rites by picking his body with the front page of Mumbai Mirror and hurled him down the window, the cockroach had to be disposed. This done, I returned to my normal human self and smiled at Megs with a twinkle in my eye.

Another day in the life of the superhero of Veera Desai Road!!!

Comments
  1. […] post: https://pastpresent.wordpress.com/2007/04/25/superhero/ Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Me and my Wonderful Bikes over the years – My […]

Leave a comment