Archive for August 14, 2009

Yeh kahani sunkar aapke aakhon mein aasoo aa jayenge. It’s a tragedy, a romance gone wrong and full of suffering. Read on…

It was a sleepy day when I subscribed to seventymm.com movie rentals. They had a fantastic offer which waived off the security deposit. It sounded good, so I promptly made the payment using my credit card on their IVR. Wow, I thought, a movie everyday – one of my choice!! As I sat dreaming, I got a call from them immediately informing that the transaction didn’t go through due to some issue and I would have to re-do the transaction. I did, only to discover a few days later that I had been billed twice. Despite providing the high lords sitting in seventymm with proof of my credit card statement, they refused to believe that they had billed me twice, but thanks to my bank, somehow the transaction was cancelled.

Then the story began, me adding to the wishlists and watching movie. One day it rained in Mumbai, and I didn’t get the movie. I was told flooding (?) was the reason. That the person could not reach my place due to flooding – hah! Anyways, I made through scratched discs, late deliveries etc till the fateful day of August 13. I received a badly damaged disc from seventymm. I called them thrice on Thursday, 13 August.

Call 1 – To inform Customer Service that I have received a bad DVD of Incredibles and need immediate replacement. I was told that nothing could be done. But as a special gesture (?) of a manual intervention to resend the movie is being done and I will be given another one next day, but only a VCD. Reluctantly, I accepted.

Call 2: I changed my mind on this movie since it was such a letdown. I called them back within an hour to cancel the manual intervention to resend the movie since I didn’t want Incredibles again. It was confirmed that this was cancelled.

Call 3: To re-confirm the cancellation to resend the movie. It was confirmed that this was cancelled and when I send a SMS for delivery, I would get the next available movie from my wishlist.

August 14 – Voila! I got the same movie inspite of 2 instructions. What happened?

Now, having lost it, I called back to demand a replacement the moment I received the confirmation SMS. I was told nothing can be done about it, and that they didn’t have any authority!!! I was also told that someone will call me by 12, and as I write this, no one has even bothered to call back!!!

None of the supervisors or seniors are ever available to speak to customers. Worse still, in spite of having put in a formal complaint, I have been informed that no complaint numbers are issued!! How can these be tracked then? I am surprised that Seventymm has not even basic processes in place to handle/process complaints or escalate them to seniors.

Seventymm have wasted two paid days when I could have watched to movies and I could’nt watch any!!! And for absolutely no fault of mine.

And like a deserted beloved, I continue to wait for the promised call.

The End (doesn’t seem too near!)